Review of Legislation and Programs for Sites Impacted by Development

On March 19, 2020 the Minister of Conservation and Climate requested the Clean Environment Commission to conduct an in-depth review to identify policy options to implement a coordinated polluter pays approach across both the Ophaned and AbandonedReview of Legislation and Mine Sites and Contaminated Sites Environmental Remediation Programs.  Programs for Sites Impacted by Development


Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference


Background Information



Panel Members

Serge Scrafield (Chair)

Serge Scrafield was appointed Chair of the Clean Environment Commission in September 2016.

Mr. Scrafield retired from the Manitoba Government in 2014 after 38 years of service. For 22 of these years Mr. Scrafield served as an Assistant Deputy Minister for the former departments of Environment and Conservation and Water Stewardship. Early in his career he worked in land planning with the former departments of Municipal Affairs and Rural Development.

Laurie Streich (Commissioner)

Laurie Streich began her career as a reporter with the Winnipeg Free Press. She joined the Manitoba government in 1981 and has served as Manager and Chief Editor for the State of Environment reporting program, Director of the Pollution Prevention Branch and Chair of the grant review committee for the Sustainable Development Innovations Fund and the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment's (CCME) Pollution Prevention Awards Program. She was a member of the City of Winnipeg's advisory group to improve waste management and recycling services. Laurie retired from the government in 2015 and is currently manager of Frogbox Winnipeg, an environmentally-conscious company that supplies reusable moving boxes. She is a member of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce's Environmental Leadership Council.

Terry Johnson (Commissioner)

Terry Johnson graduated from Red River College as an electrical technologist and worked for Manitoba Hydro for over 13 years. Terry and his wife then moved back to the family farm in the Elkhorn area and farmed for over 23 years. After selling most of their farm they moved to Virden, where they now live. Mr. Johnson then worked for the Virden Credit Union for over five years while being was semi-retired. During this time he served as councilor for the RM of Archie and as Reeve and later, for the town of Virden as councilor and Deputy Mayor. Terry has had the rare privilege of serving on a number of municipal, provincial and federal boards and local community organizations. Spare time is spent travelling and part time farming.

Glen Cummings (Commissioner)

Glen Cummings is retired and resides in Neepawa. Mr. Cummings was a member of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba from 1986 to 2007, during which time he also served as Minister of the Environment and Minister of Natural Resources. He was also a farmer for most of his life and with his father, operated a mixed farm with beef cattle and hogs and grain and oilseed crops. In the past, Glen has been chairperson of the local agricultural society and chairperson of Beautiful Plains School Division. Mr. Cummings is currently an active member of the Rotary Club in Neepawa.



Upload a Written Submission or Presentation

Send us a written submission as an email attachment

Upload a submission


Public Sessions



Become a Participant



Become a Presenter



The Hearing







Written Submissions




There are currently no videos posted for this hearing.



Final Report

Final Report


Request Report

If you would like to receive a printed copy of the report please fill out the form below.